Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
At Sister Love's - Norman T. Ray
17 juillet 2013

John Carter, from hate to love!

As a previous entry in the blog revealed it, I am a huge fan of the Martian adventures series written by Edgar Rice Burroughs, who began with “A Princess of Mars” in 1912. As you surely know, this novel has been adapted in 2012 for the big screen under the “John Carter” title. The film is regarded as a failure at the box-office, and was even christened “the biggest failure of all times”! That’s wrong by the way, as seen on this Wikipedia page:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_box_office_bombs

I had an odd relation with this film. Just after seeing it, I hated it. Admittedly the history was basically there, but there were so much differences and alterations that those made me sick. Barsoom didn’t look as in the novels, they had made John Carter a reluctant hero and a passive character for most of the movie, they had made out of Dejah Thoris a clone of Xena Warrior Princess… And then a strange phenomenon occurred. The film started little by little to improve in my mind, until reversing my opinion completely. Today I adore it. It’s the first time that such a thing happened to me. In general, when I see a film, my opinion relating to it changes very little.

I will compare this phenomenon to a work of mourning, all things considered of course. I needed in my mind to let go of the “perfect” adaptation (in any case nearer to the novels) than I had in my head, to accept the changes which Andrew Stanton and his team had made. If you didn’t do it yet, watch John Carter, at least once. If it’s not your cup of tea, so be it, at least you will have tried. But really all that you risk is to fall in love with the history and this universe.

John_carter_poster

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
At Sister Love's - Norman T. Ray
  • Author of the electronic novel Who Is Sister Love?, Norman T. Ray created this blog to write about the adventure of this ebook. Welcome! Pour la version française, voici le lien : http://normantrayfr.canalblog.com
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Archives
Publicité